Midweek Update: Demonstrating His Grace

Dear Fourth Church Family,

This morning, I want to draw your attention to the middle phrase on our bulletin each week, “Demonstrating His Grace”. One of the reasons we put that phrase front and center is because our world is in desperate need of this moral ingredient. As God’s people, Christians need to stand out and demonstrate this grace and the mercy that God has graciously given us. We are uniquely set in the world as ambassadors of Christ to sprinkle this grace and this mercy into our conversations and into the challenges of our day.

Notes for this week (see further info below):

  • August 19: 5:30 p.m., Congregational Prayer
  • August 23: Join us for worship. Reservations open each Wednesday morning for the Sunday to come.
  • In the coming weeks, look for more information about how to participate in our various ministries this fall.
  • We are in need of volunteers to continue to make Sunday morning, in-person worship possible. Contact Corey Gray at cgray@4thpres.org to find out more.

Grace and Peace,

Todd


Worship Services, Sunday, August 23

We extend a warm invitation to everyone in the community to join us for on-campus worship services! Please note that because of physical distancing, advance reservations are required for all three services.

Outdoor Services | 8:00 & 9:30 a.m.
Lower (east) Parking Lot

Indoor Service | 11:00 a.m. in the Sanctuary
Face coverings required
Also available via livestream

Sermon

“The Lament of a Clear Conscience” | Psalm 35

  • If you need to cancel your reservation, please email Rebecca Sparks-Korossy, rkorossy@4thpres.org.
  • For now there is no childcare or on-site Sunday school, but online classes and activities are available for children, youth, and adults. All ages are welcome in Sunday worship services.
Able to volunteer on Sunday mornings?

Congregational Prayer Online, Wednesdays, 5:30-6:00 p.m.

Join our churchwide online prayer time by video or phone. See the information sent to the Fourth community this morning via email. If it’s your first time joining us, you can get familiar with Zoom videoconferencing ahead of time here.
Questions for church staff? Call: 301-320-3600, x205, or email Sallie Holdrich, sholdrich@4thpres.org.


Ministry Announcements

Adult Sunday School

Contact: Kathy Lofberg, klofberg@4thpres.org
Fall Pastor’s Classes | Weekly group meetings will take place online, scheduled at various dates/times. Leaders will be in touch with meeting instructions. There is also an option to register for independent study. More information may be found on the Adult Sunday School webpage.

Community Groups

Contact: Tommy Myrick, tmyrick@4thpres.org
We are making plans for community groups to resume in September with online fellowship and sermon discussion via Zoom. This fall we would like to add several new groups to help accommodate increased interest. For information about leading a new community group, please send an email.

ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)

Contact: Matilde Palmer, mpalmer@4thpres.org
Online ESOL classes begin September 9 and registration is now open. We are in need of new volunteer teachers and new students. Please let people know to visit 4thpres.org/esol for full information, and consider joining this vital outreach ministry as a volunteer teacher.

Family Ministries

Contact: Marie LeDuc, mleduc@4thpres.org
Children’s Sunday School | Take advantage of your time at home to enjoy this week’s Fourth Family Huddle reading. We encourage you to read, sing, and pray together with your families this week as we explore the Book of Acts.
Youth Sunday School | Our virtual Sunday School will be sent out Sunday morning and available on the website.

Fourth Fellows Program

Contact: David Frerichs, dfrerichs@4thpres.org, or
Jennifer Redd, jredd@4thpres.org
Please pray for the Fellows as they arrive on Thursday, August 27.

Media Center

Contact: Jennifer Horst, jhorst@4thpres.org
Materials from the Media Center are available for checkout. Log into your Atriuum account to check availability and we will put your items at the front desk table for pickup.

Missions/Outreach Newsletter

Contact: Charlotte FitzGerald, cfitzgerald@4thpres.org
Email Charlotte to sign up to receive our biweekly email with information about opportunities to serve our community through our ministry partners.

New Opportunities to SERVE

Contact: Pamela Roylance, SERVE@4thpres.org
This fall Fourth Church volunteers will be providing a monthly Sunday dinner for women at Clark Inn (one of Samaritan Inns’ locations). Stay tuned for details on how you can show the love of Christ to these ladies and their children.

Special Blessings

Contact: Audrey Muteru, amuteru@4thpres.org
New information for fall weekly Zoom gatherings and Sunday school lessons will be on our website in the next few weeks.

Women’s Ministry

Contact: Jean Bronson, jbronson@4thpres.org
Fourth Circles | Our monthly neighborhood gatherings for women of all ages begin in September and will continue via Zoom until it’s safe to meet in person. Circles focus on friendship, prayer, and mentoring as women explore God’s Word together. To find a circle in your neighborhood, contact Jean or visit our website.
Women’s Fall Bible Studies, September 7-November 16 | Once school/sports schedules are announced, we will provide the entire list of possible Zoom Bible studies on Hosea: A 12-Week Study (Knowing the Bible), by Lydia Brownback. Order your own study guide, available at this writing from Westminster Bookstore, Amazon.com, and Christianbook.com. If you use Amazon, consider starting at smile.amazon.com and designating Fourth Presbyterian Church (Bethesda) as the charity, and the church will receive a portion of the purchase.
SHARE THIS POST

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

  • Sunday Online Services
  • Midweek Updates (Video)
  • Devotional Articles
  • Other Updates