Midweek Update: Learning to Lament

Dear Fourth Church Family,

This Sunday, we begin a new five-week sermon series entitled “Learning to Lament”. We will examine selected Psalms, full of God-breathed poetry and songs for times when we are low. In his providence, God has made lamenting part of the life of faith—a practice for us to relearn and reclaim as a church.

Notes for this week (see further info below):

  • Meet our Fourth Fellows in the short video below.
  • We are in need of volunteers to continue to make Sunday morning, in-person worship possible. Contact Corey Gray at cgray@4thpres.org to find out more.
  • August 12: 5:30 p.m., Congregational Prayer
  • August 16: Join us for worship. Reservations open each Wednesday morning for the Sunday to come.

Grace and Peace,

Todd


Worship Services, Sunday, August 16

We extend a warm invitation to everyone in the community to join us for on-campus worship services! Please note that because of physical distancing, advance reservations are required for all three services.

Outdoor Services | 8:00 & 9:30 a.m.
Lower (east) Parking Lot

Indoor Service | 11:00 a.m. in the Sanctuary
Face coverings required
Also available via livestream

Sermon

“How to Uplift Your Soul” | Psalm 25
New sermon series: “Learning to Lament”

  • If you need to cancel your reservation, please email Rebecca Sparks-Korossy, rkorossy@4thpres.org.
  • For now there is no childcare or on-site Sunday school, but online classes and activities are available for children, youth, and adults. All ages are welcome in Sunday worship services.
Able to volunteer on Sunday mornings?

Fourth Fellows

Contact: David Frerichs, dfrerichs@4thpres.org, or
Jennifer Redd, jredd@4thpres.org

Introducing … our first class of Fourth Fellows! Here’s your chance to learn their names and add them to your prayer list for the year ahead.


Congregational Prayer Online, Wednesdays, 5:30-6:00 p.m.

Join our churchwide online prayer time by video or phone. See the information sent to the Fourth community this morning via email. If it’s your first time joining us, you can get familiar with Zoom videoconferencing ahead of time here.
Questions for church staff? Call: 301-320-3600, x205, or email Sallie Holdrich, sholdrich@4thpres.org.


Ministry Announcements

ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)

Contact: Matilde Palmer, mpalmer@4thpres.org.

Online ESOL classes start September 9. We invite students and volunteer teachers to join us. Please spread the word and let people know to visit 4thpres.org/esol for full info and registration.

Family Ministries

Contact: Marie LeDuc, mleduc@4thpres.org.

Children’s Sunday School | Take advantage of your time at home to enjoy this week’s Fourth Family Huddle reading. We encourage you to read, sing, and pray together with your families this week as we explore the Book of Acts.

Youth Ministry | Both middle and high school will have activities this week. For locations and event information, please contact Nate Robbins, nrobbins@4thpres.org. Our virtual Sunday School continues to meet.

Women’s Ministry

Contact: Jean Bronson, jbronson@4thpres.org.

Women’s Cancer Support Group | We will meet virtually, Sunday, August 16, 2:30 p.m. If you have been recently diagnosed, in treatment, or in the stage known as NED (no evidence of disease), please join us for our monthly dose of encouragement and prayer! If you are new to our group, please contact Jean for a Zoom invitation.

Women’s Fall Bible Studies, September 7-November 16 | Once school/sports schedules are announced, we will provide the entire list of possible Zoom Bible studies on Hosea: A 12-Week Study (Knowing the Bible), by Lydia Brownback. Order your own study guide, available at this writing from Westminster Bookstore, Amazon.com, and Christianbook.com. If you use Amazon, consider starting at smile.amazon.com and designating Fourth Presbyterian Church (Bethesda) as the charity, and the church will receive a portion of the purchase.

Community Groups

Contact: Tommy Myrick, tmyrick@4thpres.org

We are making plans for community groups to resume in September with online fellowship and sermon discussion via Zoom. This fall we would like to add several new groups to help accommodate increased interest. Please get in touch if you would like information about leading a new community group.

Adult Sunday School

Contact: Kathy Lofberg, klofberg@4thpres.org

Fall Pastor’s Classes | Online, September 6–December 6. Registration is required
Pastor’s Class: Galatians.
Pastor’s Class: Joshua
Weekly group meetings will take place online, scheduled at various dates/times. Leaders will be in touch with meeting instructions. More information may be found on the Adult Sunday School webpage.

From the Finance Office

Contact: Ruth Williams, rwilliams@4thpres.org

Giving envelopes are mailed every three months to those who request them. We are happy to continue to send them, but if you no longer need or want giving envelopes, please email by Monday, August 17, to be removed from the fourth quarter envelope mailing list.

Did you know?

  • If you give by check, your check has all we need to record your gift for tax purposes.
  • An envelope with your name and address is needed for tax credit only when you are giving cash.
  • Online giving on Fourth’s website is easy and secure. Click GIVE at the top right of any page on the website.
SHARE THIS POST

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

  • Sunday Online Services
  • Midweek Updates (Video)
  • Devotional Articles
  • Other Updates