Teaching and Ruling Elders

A distinctive mark of the Presbyterian Church is governance by a plurality of ‘presbyters’ or ‘elders.’ The elders have a pastoral responsibility for the care of individuals and a programmatic responsibility to administer the life of the church. There are two types: Teaching Elders, who are ordained pastors, and Ruling Elders, who are elected by the local congregation. The 24 Ruling Elders serve 3-year terms. The Teaching and Ruling Elders together comprise Session, the ruling body that meets monthly (Acts 14-15; 1 Timothy 5; Titus 1; James 5).

Teaching Elders

Dr. Todd Smedley, Senior Pastor
Rev. Corey Gray
Rev. Ron Meyer
Rev. Thomas Myrick
Dr. Robert Norris

Ruling Elders

Class of 2018 Class of 2019      Class of 2020
Phil Fanara Don Evans Peter Beukema
Joe Fisher Tim Greszler Jeff Hearle
Doug Gilbert Doug Noll Zack Koutsandreas
Greg Glenn Jacob Peterson Steve Liston
Doug Nyhus Todd Ramsey Ralph Miller
Dirk Rankin* John Sillin Jimmy Nerantzis
Doug Smoot Ken Sisco Bob Reiter
Chris Thatch Ken Wormald John Ritterpusch

* Clerk of Session


Fourth Presbyterian Church has 34 Deacons. Elected by the congregation, Deacons come from all walks of life and all sorts of professions. You may not be aware of everything Fourth’s Board of Deacons does, and in some ways that is by design. The Board carries out its responsibilities behind the scenes, in strictest confidence. The Deacons Ministry is not supported by the church budget; every penny we spend is raised through generous quarterly offerings from the congregation. Each Deacon’s activity is bathed with prayer, always with trust that the beauty of Jesus will be evident in all of our contacts. For more detailed information on the Deacon Ministry, click here.

Class of 2018 Class of 2019 Class of 2020
Cheryl Butz Mary Andrich Carol Jackson
Mark De Ravin Chris Bruce Wyatt Hardiman
Rebecca Fisher James Caldwell Elaine Hauschildt
Susan Fisher Anthony Leegwater Carol McClelland
John Hoobler Jamila Levi Scott McClelland
Steve Howe Richard Morris Leanne McPherson
Romi Kobayashi Tom Rogers A. J. Minite
Arpad Korossy Joe Ann Stenstrom Charlie Montague
Marie Le Duc Mike Prather
Asoka SiddiArachchige Lowrie Reiter
Lee Thorson Linda Sillin
Phil Warker Candace Steele
Melissa Thatch


The Board of Trustees serves under the direction of Session and manages church property and some financial records.

Class of 2018 Class of 2019 Class of 2020
Ben Evans Kim Gutschick Rachel Greszler
David Mutryn Michael Klitsch
George Scola

Committee Lists

2017-2018 Committee Assignments to see the 2017-2018 committee assignments.